Mozzarella making class on a Stormy Brooklyn night

23 Jun

One of  the favorite aspects of my job is the opportunity to lead cheese and beverage tastings for the general public, and of the courses that I teach, Hands on Mozzarella seems to be one of the most popular. My friend Nissa Pearson runs a Culinary and Educational center called Ger Nis Institute located on President Street in the heart of Brooklyn, which spawned from a business in which she sources avenues for small producers around the globe, thus promoting organic and fair trade of their products in the United States. On a muggy Thursday afternoon, I embarked on my teaching adventure. Carrying over 50 lbs of uncut curds on me, I arrived at the institute to a sold out class.

Mozzarella which comes from the italian verb Mozzare meaning to cut, is a “Pasta Filatta” or Streched Curd cheese which originated in Southern Italy around Naples. Traditionally, it has been made from water buffalo’s milk (Mozzarella di Buffala) although the cow’s milk version (Fiore di Latte) might be more readily available in US markets.

The purpose of our class was to allow participants to create their own balls (no pun intended) and then work on recipes that would use their fresh creations. With our pots full of hot water and after our aprons and executioner style black  rubber gloves were donned, I  demonstrated the technique to making fresh Mozzarella. Cutting the curds in small pieces, I proceeded to add in hot water, raising the temperature in a gentle but steady manner, to allow the curds to melt nicely. After I finished the first balls, I  put them in a bucket with lukewarm water ,thus lowering the temperature in the freshly finished ones. After 10 or 15 minutes, I put the balls in a brine solution (water and salt), which enhances their sweet and creamy flavor.

As threatening lightning and thunder echoed outside, participants took turns in making their cheeses. I must admit, some were naturals at it; some others, had more challenging times, but they all accomplished the task at hand. Nissa then proceeded to make fresh basil pesto, which was integrated to a salad of fresh mozzarella and organic vine-ripe tomatoes. The result was exceptional to say the least. As a final touch, fresh grilled sandwiches of fresh Mozzarella, pesto and tomatoes were made , as if in a failed attempt to appease the rain gods that were hitting the roof like a tin can by now.

It was then, that with a full stomach, I ventured out into the typhoon-like storm, which seems to be the norm in NY these days, making stop along the bars in the hood, as if to dry for a while, while trying the different microbrews they offered.

Waldemar Albrecht-Luna.

Leave a comment